Two Shorts inspired by Iain M. Banks (NaPoWriMo #4)

Prosthetic Conscience

I have a special friend that suspends my moral level
Sometimes I don’t want a halo, but to play a li’l devil
Think for a moment, open the hatch of my head
Take the voice out and stuff in a pocket instead

Lightly Seared on the Reality Grill

Glancing sideways
At a suspiciously beautiful figure
Earnings from apples and million sidewalk steps
Start of a smile tiptoes into her face
But tiny muscles tip swaying balance
And she falls off the cloud
Transfers weight to see
A warped reflection
The funhouse mirror extinguishes proud fire
The ‘her’ she saw and liked was reality’s liar

I found the prompt really interesting today. Two other titles that I would use if I had time are Irregular Apocalypse and Very Little Gravitas Indeed (I write this in case I want to continue this thread of inspiration someday). Visit http://www.napowrimo.net  for more information!

Thanks for reading,
thebookybunhead

PS: Pretty sure that’s a stock image but here’s the source anyway: http://coyoteprime-runningcauseicantfly.blogspot.ca/2012/06/chet-raymo-angels-and-devils-part-2.html

4 Comments

Filed under NaPoWriMo Challenge

4 responses to “Two Shorts inspired by Iain M. Banks (NaPoWriMo #4)

  1. I thought this was a great prompt but didn’t have enough time to give it its due. Nice work!

  2. “Start of a smile tiptoes into her face”–really like this..

Your thoughts?

