Production blockage 101

Unfortunately, it is my current status and a much too common phrase in my life. Despite many resolutions and and self-created incentives, my id has firmly chosen a life motto for me:

Yes, I am minute management challenged and deadline deficient. To be fair, I must say this year has gone much better than any previous; I have successfully stuck myself to a chair and my mind to assignments to be punctual for the judgment of each of my work. Distractions everywhere, and yup, the temptation is definitely there to pursue hobbies before academic duties. It is like my own personal scene of angel and devil on my shoulders unfolds as there are so many other activities I would rather be doing on the weekend, or worse, after and exhausting day such as today, getting home from school at 9 at night. Everything from books to music to websites screams out:

https://i2.wp.com/media-cache-ec2.pinterest.com/upload/121175046194302951_yfHVWe2a.jpg
Recognizing this detour on the path to relief and satisfaction is definitely the first step. Alas, the moment I set my eyes on the goal on starting something is only half the battle. Because as I’m working, my super-ego keeps scaring the bejeezus out of my spontaneous thoughts with:

Perfectionism.

Not saying striving for the best is a bad thing, but I can definitely categorize perfectionism as a form of self-abuse. Seems to be a common disease in dancers, but that’s a different story. This pressure is so daunting that it stops my train of thought in its tracks. Literally. I just stop planning, writing, editing, whatever. Because I figure, if it’s not going to be perfect, what’s the point?
If distractions in this increasingly media addicted world isn’t bad enough:

homework! what homework?

how about distractions inside your head because you don’t want to finish something since it will never be finished the way you want it to be? No picture for that one. It is a vicious cycle and the only way to break it is to crave the opposite: being on time, or even better, being early. Honestly, the day I discovered how much pointless time I spent worrying on procrastinating, therefore ending up completely avoiding the task completely, was the day I finished my first essay within the first few days it was assigned. Got it, it’s fresh, work, done. There’s nothing like the rush of a panicked “WHAT ASSIGNMENT?!” when a due date is pointed out and you finally realize, “Oh, I finished that weeks ago!” Great feeling.

It is so refreshing to change such a stressful pattern, and just one success in time management gets you on a roll for the better. That being said, getting out of a funk as they call it can be hard especially when it is a challenge to just do what you have to do. I don’t want to add hypocrite to my list, so now’s a good time to crack down and take my own advice…

To our perfectly capable brains,
Study buddies hang tight!

Leave a comment

Filed under Just another person, Oh Life, Words of No Wisdom

Your thoughts?

